Follow by Email

Sunday, 5 January 2014

Korea’s Traditional 24 Seasons


                                [24절기/24 Jeol-gi : Korea’s Traditional 24 Seasons]

Did you guys know that Korean Lunar Calendar incorporates seasonal divisions of 24 Jeol-Gi, or “turning points of the season” each on lasting for about 15 days.

This seasonal cycle became a timetable for agriculture created by the ancient Koreans. In order to take care of crops throughout the year, Korea’s ancestors had to understand the weather from spring through autumn. They divided a year into spring, summer, autumn, and winter and each se
ason into a further 6 divisions. This gave Korea 24 seasons (Jeol-gi). All 24 days have its own significance in terms of predicting changes in the weather, and created various idioms associated with seasonal activities.

Although, the Jeol-gi customs and holidays are slowly dying from modern Korean society there are many who still celebrate the traditional customs of Jeol-gi holidays. In January 2014, Sohan is on January 5th and it is called the “Small Cold” although it is the coldest day of the season.

Daehan is on January 20th and it is called the “Big Cold” but it is less cold day than Sohan. Korea’s Ancestors though that Daehan would be the end of the winter and final season of the year. Also, one of the biggest holidays in Korea in the Lunar Calendar is Lunar New Year’s Day (Seolnal) which is on January 31st.

There are only few countries that have four distinct seasons like Korea.
 Korea is very thankful and blessed to experience all fours seasons and the different 24 divisions of Jeol-gi unlike other countries and customs.
I hope you also enjoy "Korea’s traditional 24 seasons.”

No comments:

Post a Comment